Skip to content

Home Gym

Best Smith Machines

A Smith machine fixes the bar to rails, so you can rack it at any point by turning your wrists. That makes it one of the safest ways to train heavy presses and squats alone — and most home models now add a power cage and a cable station in the same footprint.

We compared seven Smith machines sold on Amazon.com, from compact and standalone designs to all-in-ones with weight stacks. Specifications come from the listings, owner themes from recurring reviews, and the LiftEvidence score is our weighted editorial assessment. Review bases are small for this category, and we say so wherever it matters.

By the LiftEvidence editorial team · Updated October 8, 2026 · 7 products compared · Affiliate disclosure

Quick answer

For most home gyms the RitFit M1 Pro is the most complete all-in-one we cover: a linear-bearing Smith bar, a power cage and a dual cable crossover on aluminium pulleys, with clearly published dimensions and a 36-month frame warranty. If you want to change cable weight with a pin, the DONOW is the only machine here with two selectorised weight stacks — and the highest owner rating — but it is nearly 79 in wide.

If you only want a Smith bar, the Valor Fitness standalone machine has a heavy 12-gauge frame and a bar owners describe as smooth. The Body-Solid 7° Smith has the heaviest-gauge frame of all but very few owner reviews so far. For smaller rooms, the compact RitFit fits a Smith bar, rack and lat pulldown in about 14 sq ft.

Options by use case

Top picks

Editorial picks for specific needs, based on the specifications and trade-offs recorded below. A label is given only where a product clearly earns it.

Best Overall

RitFit M1 Pro

The most complete all-in-one here, with smooth cables and a published 3-year frame warranty

Smith machine + cage + cables · Dual cable crossover, aluminium pulleys, plate-loaded (a weight-stack package is sold as a separate variant)

8.0 / 10 LiftEvidence score

Best With Weight Stacks

DONOW Weight-Stack Smith

Selectorised dual weight stacks — the fastest cable training in this guide

Smith machine + cage + weight stacks · Dual independent cable crossover with enclosed selectorised weight stacks, 2:1 ratio

7.9 / 10 LiftEvidence score

Best for Heavy Cable Work

Major Fitness Drone2

1:1 cables for heavy rows and pulldowns, with clear assembly instructions

Smith machine + cage + cables · Dual lat-pulldown and cable crossover, aluminium pulleys, 1:1 ratio, plate-loaded

7.1 / 10 LiftEvidence score

All smith machines

Showing 7 of 7. Add up to 4 to a comparison.

All smith machines compared

The same criteria for every product. A dash means the information was not published or could not be confirmed. Scores are editorial assessments, not measurements.

All Smith Machines compared
7 productsCheck price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →
Editorial summary (LiftEvidence)
LiftEvidence score8.0 / 10 (highest)7.9 / 106.9 / 106.8 / 107.1 / 106.9 / 106.9 / 10
RecommendationBest OverallBest With Weight StacksBest Standalone SmithBest Build QualityBest for Heavy Cable Work—Most Compact
Best suited toAll-in-One Home Gym, Training Alone, Cable Work, HypertrophyAll-in-One Home Gym, Cable Work, Hypertrophy, Training AloneTraining Alone, Hypertrophy, BeginnerTraining Alone, HypertrophyAll-in-One Home Gym, Cable Work, HypertrophyAll-in-One Home Gym, Cable WorkSmaller Rooms, Training Alone, Hypertrophy
Smith bar smoothnessGoodGoodExcellentGoodGoodModerateGood
Specifications (manufacturer)
TypeSmith machine + cage + cablesSmith machine + cage + weight stacksStandalone Smith machineSmith machine + free-weight cageSmith machine + cage + cablesSmith machine + cage + cablesSmith machine + cage + cables
Bar path———7° angled———
Stated Smith capacity1,850 lb (Smith system maximum per the Amazon listing)—500 lb (From the Amazon listing title)—Listing states 2,000 lb for the rackListing states 2,000 lb for the frameListing gives a 1,000 lb “tension level”
Smith carriageLinear bearings with spring protection; 12 lock-out positionsLinear bearingsLinear bearings, solid bar latch, bar rotation————
Cable systemDual cable crossover, aluminium pulleys, plate-loaded (a weight-stack package is sold as a separate variant)Dual independent cable crossover with enclosed selectorised weight stacks, 2:1 ratioNoneNoneDual lat-pulldown and cable crossover, aluminium pulleys, 1:1 ratio, plate-loadedIndependent dual pulley systems with cable crossover, plate-loadedLat pulldown and low row (no crossover)
Frame2 × 2 in steel uprights2 × 2 in steel4 × 2 in, 12-gauge steel11- and 12-gauge, 2 × 3 in steel, welded on all four sides2 × 2 in steel uprights50 × 50 mm steel uprightsSteel, 2 mm wall thickness
Dimensions63 in deep × 47.8 in wide × 85.2 in tall54.7 in deep × 78.6 in wide × 88 in tall53 in deep × 85 in wide × 80 in tall69 × 69 × 83 in (listing)——44 in × 45.3 in × 82 in tall (about 14 sq ft)
Machine weight360 lb—264 lb312 lb———
Warranty36 months on the main frame, 12 months on accessories———Lifetime after-sales support (listing wording)——
Warranty36 months on the main steel frame; 12 months on accessories (listing).Warranty not stated in the listing details we reviewed.——Listing promises lifetime after-sales support; formal warranty terms not stated in the details we reviewed.——
Price & customer ratings (Amazon)
Price band———————
Amazon customer ratingSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on AmazonSee current rating on Amazon
Editorial assessment (LiftEvidence)
Less suitable forRooms under about 86 in tall, upstairs gyms where 360 lb is a concern, or anyone who wants selectorised weight stacks in the base package.Narrow rooms (about 78.6 in wide) or ceilings under about 90 in, and buyers who need stack weights and warranty terms confirmed before ordering.Anyone who wants cables, a pull-up bar or a free-weight cage in the same unit, or rooms under about 85 in wide.Buyers who want a large owner record before spending, or an all-in-one with cables.Anyone who wants long cable travel for flyes and crossovers, or needs reliable published dimensions before ordering.Buyers who want detailed published dimensions, weight and warranty, or the smoothest possible movement.Lifters who want a dual cable crossover, or detailed carriage and warranty information before buying.
Strengths
  • Smith, cage and dual cables in one footprint
  • Aluminium pulleys owners find smooth
  • 36-month frame warranty
  • Clear published dimensions
  • Two selectorised, enclosed weight stacks
  • Smith bar, rack with safeties and pull-up station
  • Highest rating here (4.6 from 249)
  • Largest review base among these machines
  • 4 × 2 in, 12-gauge frame
  • Smooth linear-bearing bar
  • Simpler, fewer parts to go wrong
  • Plate-storage pegs
  • Heaviest-gauge frame here (11/12-gauge, 2 × 3 in)
  • Adjustable safeties for Smith and free weights
  • 7° angled bar path
  • Established manufacturer
  • 1:1 cable ratio for heavy pulling
  • Dual pulldown and crossover systems
  • Owners praise the instructions
  • Large accessory kit
  • Independent pulleys on both sides
  • Many adjustment positions
  • Long accessory list
  • Smallest footprint here (about 14 sq ft)
  • Smith, rack and lat pulldown together
  • Positive owner feedback on stability
Drawbacks
  • Plate-loaded cables in the base package
  • Cable management complaints
  • 360 lb, ships in several boxes
  • Smith bar path not published
  • Very wide (78.6 in) and tall (88 in)
  • Stack weights and warranty not stated in the listing details
  • Assembly instructions draw complaints
  • No cables or pull-up station
  • 85 in wide
  • Capacity figure only from the title
  • Assembly instructions criticised
  • Only 18 Amazon ratings
  • No cable system
  • Large footprint (about 69 × 69 in)
  • Carriage and capacity not detailed on the listing
  • Inconsistent dimensions on the listing
  • Some plastic parts
  • Small review base (56)
  • Formal warranty terms not stated
  • Few published specifications
  • Mixed smoothness reports
  • Small review base (59)
  • Warranty not stated in the details we reviewed
  • No cable crossover
  • Small review base (60)
  • Carriage, capacity and warranty not detailed
Frame & build score7.5 / 107.5 / 108.5 / 109.0 / 10 (highest)7.0 / 107.0 / 107.5 / 10
Smith system score8.0 / 107.5 / 108.5 / 10 (highest)8.0 / 107.0 / 106.5 / 107.0 / 10
Cable system score8.5 / 109.0 / 10 (highest)3.0 / 103.0 / 108.0 / 107.0 / 106.0 / 10
Versatility score9.0 / 10 (highest)9.0 / 10 (highest)5.0 / 106.5 / 108.5 / 108.5 / 107.5 / 10
Specification transparency score8.0 / 10 (highest)6.0 / 107.0 / 106.5 / 105.0 / 105.0 / 106.0 / 10
Owner feedback score7.0 / 108.0 / 10 (highest)7.5 / 105.5 / 106.5 / 106.5 / 106.5 / 10

Buying guide

What matters most

  • Measure height and width first

    Most all-in-ones stand 82–88 in tall and some are close to 80 in wide. Add room to load plates and step in and out.

  • Smith system

    Linear bearings generally run smoother than bushings. Check the number of lock-out positions and whether safeties are included for both the Smith bar and the free-weight area.

  • Cables: plate-loaded or weight stack

    Plate-loaded cables are cheaper and heavier-capable; selectorised stacks are faster to change. Ratio matters: 1:1 feels heavier per plate, 2:1 gives longer cable travel.

  • Small owner records

    Most home Smith machines have fewer than 250 Amazon ratings. We weight review volume in the score and favour models with clear published specifications and warranties.

Smith machine or free weights?

For muscle growth, the evidence suggests the type of equipment matters less than the work you do with it. A meta-analysis of studies comparing free-weight and machine training found no difference in hypertrophy or overall strength in direct comparisons — but strength gains were specific to the equipment trained with.

Free weights demand more from stabilising muscles. In a small electromyography study, the free-weight squat produced about 43% more average muscle activity than the Smith machine squat, with higher activity in the calves, hamstrings and vastus medialis. One-rep maxes also differ between the two: in one study, squat 1RM was higher on the Smith machine and bench press 1RM higher with free weights, so loads do not transfer one-to-one.

The practical reading: a Smith machine is a legitimate tool for building muscle and a safe way to press and squat heavy alone, but if you want a bigger barbell squat or bench, keep training the barbell versions too.

Related: RitFit M1 Pro · Body-Solid 7° Smith

Measure the room before anything else

Home Smith machines are large. The all-in-ones here stand roughly 82–88 in tall, and widths range from about 45 in (compact RitFit) to nearly 79 in (DONOW) and 85 in (Valor). Add space to load plates on both sides and to step in and out, and check the ceiling for pull-ups if the machine has a pull-up bar.

They are also heavy — 264 lb for the Valor, 312 lb for the Body-Solid and 360 lb for the RitFit M1 Pro — and usually arrive in several boxes. Plan delivery and assembly, especially for upstairs rooms.

The Smith system: bearings, path and safeties

Linear bearings generally give a smoother bar than bushings; several machines here use them and owners specifically praise the Valor's smoothness. Check how many lock-out positions there are and whether safeties cover both the Smith bar and any free-weight area.

Most home machines run vertically; the Body-Solid uses a 7° angle, as many commercial machines do. Neither is objectively better — choose what feels natural for your squats and presses — but if you train in a commercial gym too, matching the angle keeps loads comparable.

Related: Valor Fitness Smith Machine · Body-Solid 7° Smith

Cables: ratio, stacks and smoothness

Plate-loaded cables (most machines here) are cheaper and can be loaded heavily; selectorised stacks (DONOW) change in seconds. The ratio changes the feel: on a 1:1 system (Major Fitness Drone2) the handle load equals the plates, which suits heavy rows and pulldowns; on a 2:1 system (DONOW) the handle load is roughly halved but the cable travels further, which suits flyes and crossovers.

Pulley quality shows up in reviews. Aluminium pulleys and dual slide rails, as on the RitFit M1 Pro, draw consistent praise for smoothness; cable management and mixed smoothness are recurring complaints on several all-in-ones.

Related: DONOW Weight-Stack Smith · Major Fitness Drone2

A category with small owner records

Unlike dumbbells or benches, most home Smith machines on Amazon have fewer than 250 ratings, and some fewer than 60. Listings also vary in how much they publish: several do not state the Smith carriage design, machine weight or warranty, and one gives inconsistent dimensions.

We therefore weight transparency and review volume in the score, and we say plainly where information is missing. Before buying any of these machines, confirm the dimensions, warranty and return policy with the seller.

How we evaluated these smith machines

We searched Amazon.com for home Smith machines, sorted by review volume, excluded accessories and listings with very weak ratings or vague specifications, and scored seven finalists on the same criteria: frame and build (25%), Smith system (20%), cable system (15%), versatility (15%), specification transparency (10%) and owner feedback weighted by review volume (15%).

We could not verify current US prices for these machines, so we do not score value or assign price bands; check the current price on Amazon. Specifications come from the Amazon listings; where a figure is missing or inconsistent we say so. Owner themes come from recurring reviews and Amazon's review summaries and are reported as user experience. Scores are LiftEvidence editorial assessments. We have not physically tested these machines.

Read our full methodology.

Frequently asked questions

Can you build muscle with a Smith machine?

Yes. A meta-analysis of studies comparing free-weight and machine training found similar muscle growth with both. What matters most is training each muscle with enough hard sets and progressing over time.

Source: [1]

Will Smith machine training make my barbell lifts stronger?

Partly. Strength gains are specific to the equipment you train with, and Smith and free-weight 1RMs differ — in one study squat 1RM was higher on the Smith machine, while bench press 1RM was higher with free weights. If barbell strength matters, include the barbell lifts in your programme.

Sources: [1], [3]

Is a Smith machine safe for training alone?

It is one of the safest ways to press and squat heavy without a spotter, because you can rack the bar at many heights by rotating it. Set the safety stops just below the bottom of your range of motion, and remember that machines change how a lift feels — start lighter than your free-weight loads.

How much space does a home Smith machine need?

Plan for about 82–88 in of height and, depending on the model, 45–85 in of width, plus room to load plates and move around. The compact RitFit needs about 14 sq ft of floor; the Valor is about 85 in wide and the DONOW nearly 79 in.

Weight stacks or plate-loaded cables?

Weight stacks change resistance with a pin and keep the room tidier, which makes cable-heavy sessions faster. Plate-loaded cables are cheaper and can go heavier, but every change means loading and unloading plates. If you do a lot of cable work, the convenience of stacks is worth considering.

Why do Smith machines have so few reviews?

They are large, expensive purchases with a smaller market than dumbbells or benches, and many models are new. Smaller review bases make durability less certain, which is why we weight review volume in the score and favour machines with clear specifications and published warranties.

Who should not buy a Smith machine?

Lifters whose main goal is competition-style barbell strength, and anyone without the space or floor for a 260–360 lb machine. For those lifters, a power rack with safety arms plus a barbell and bench is usually a better first investment.

Source: [2]

Sources

  1. [1] Haugen ME, Vårvik FT, Larsen S, Haugen AS, van den Tillaar R, Bjørnsen T. Effect of free-weight vs. machine-based strength training on maximal strength, hypertrophy and jump performance – a systematic review and meta-analysis. BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation. 2023;15(1):103. Systematic review and meta-analysis doi.org/10.1186/s13102-023-00713-4
  2. [2] Schwanbeck S, Chilibeck PD, Binsted G. A comparison of free weight squat to Smith machine squat using electromyography. Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research. 2009;23(9):2588–2591. Electromyography study (small sample) doi.org/10.1519/JSC.0b013e3181b1b181
  3. [3] Cotterman ML, Darby LA, Skelly WA. Comparison of muscle force production using the Smith machine and free weights for bench press and squat exercises. Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research. 2005;19(1):169–176. Cross-sectional comparison study doi.org/10.1519/14433.1

Product specifications come from manufacturers and their Amazon.com listings (each product page lists its sources); customer themes come from Amazon reviews and are reported as user experience, not as evidence. Amazon customer ratings change over time, so we link to the live figure on Amazon rather than reproducing it. Review themes were last checked on October 8, 2026. LiftEvidence scores are editorial assessments; we have not tested these products ourselves. First published October 8, 2026.

Update history

  • October 8, 2026 — Guide first published.