Skip to content

Machines

Cable Machines

A cable machine gives constant tension at angles free weights cannot, which makes it the best tool in a home gym for isolation and accessory work. The differences that matter are how smooth the cables are, how much resistance you actually feel at the handle, how many angles you can set, and whether it fits your room.

We compared eight cable machines sold on Amazon.com — dual-stack functional trainers, a single-stack trainer, plate-loaded crossovers, a rack with cables and a wall-mounted tower — on the same criteria. Specifications come from manufacturers and Amazon listings (unpublished cable ratios are flagged), customer notes summarise recurring review themes, and the LiftEvidence score is our weighted editorial assessment. We have not tested these machines ourselves.

Top recommendations

Editorial picks for specific needs, based on the specifications and trade-offs recorded below. A label is given only where a product clearly earns it.

What matters when choosing cable machines

Cable ratio decides real resistance

On a 2:1 machine the handle feels half the stack weight but the cable travels twice as far — good for long, smooth movements. A 200 lb stack at 2:1 gives up to 100 lb per handle. Check the ratio before comparing stack sizes.

Smoothness matters more than stack size

Quality pulleys and bearings make light isolation work feel controlled. Rough or sticky pulleys are the most common complaint on cheaper machines.

Independent arms and pulley range

Two independent stacks or arms let you train one side at a time and set different loads. More positions, spaced closely, make it easier to match the cable to each exercise.

Stacks or plates

Weight stacks change load in seconds with fixed increments; plate-loaded machines are cheaper and lighter but slower to adjust, and need plates you already own.

Measure width, depth and height

Dual-stack trainers here run from 40 to 65 in wide and up to about 84 in tall. Wall-mounted towers save floor space but must be fixed into studs.

Read the full buying guide

Products

Showing 8 of 8. Add up to 4 to a comparison.

XMark

High-end

Best Overall

XMark XM-7626

The heaviest resistance per handle here, with a long record of smooth, durable use

8.5 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.8/5 · 642 Amazon ratings

Type
Functional trainer
Resistance
2 × 200 lb stacks
Cable ratio
2:1 · up to 100 lb per handle
Footprint
65 × 43.5 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Up to 100 lb per handle (2 × 200 lb stacks, 2:1)
  • Drawback: Large: 65 in wide and about 83–84 in tall

Best suited to: Hypertrophy, Advanced, General Home Gym, Multi User

REP Fitness

High-end

Best Compact Functional Trainer

REP Arcadia

Very smooth cables and 32 positions in the shallowest footprint of the stack machines

8.4 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

5/5 · 10 Amazon ratings

Type
Functional trainer
Resistance
2 × 170 lb stacks
Cable ratio
2:1 · up to 85 lb per handle
Footprint
55.3 × 35.8 in (W × D)
  • Strength: 32 pulley positions
  • Drawback: 85 lb per handle as standard

Best suited to: Hypertrophy, Small Spaces, Advanced, General Home Gym

Body-Solid

Premium

Best Value

Body-Solid PFT100

A proven dual-stack trainer with a 10-year frame warranty, well below premium prices

8.3 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.6/5 · 208 Amazon ratings

Type
Functional trainer
Resistance
2 × 160 lb stacks
Cable ratio
2:1 · up to 80 lb per handle
Footprint
62.6 × 42.3 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Two independent 160 lb stacks, 2:1
  • Drawback: 80 lb per handle as standard

Best suited to: General Home Gym, Hypertrophy, Multi User

Inspire Fitness

High-end

Inspire FTX

A narrow 40 in-wide trainer with a full accessory kit and lifetime warranty

7.9 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.6/5 · 216 Amazon ratings

Type
Functional trainer
Resistance
2 × 165 lb stacks
Cable ratio
2:1 · up to 82.5 lb per handle
Footprint
40 × 54 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Only 40 in wide
  • Drawback: 82.5 lb per handle maximum

Best suited to: Small Spaces, General Home Gym, Beginner

Major Fitness

Mid-range

Best for a Complete Home Gym

Major Fitness F22

A power rack and plate-loaded 2:1 cable crossover in one footprint

7.5 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.5/5 · 207 Amazon ratings

Type
Rack with cable crossover
Resistance
Plate-loaded
Cable ratio
2:1
Footprint
55.5 × 68.9 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Power rack and cable crossover in one
  • Drawback: Plate-loaded: slower to change weight

Best suited to: Complete Home Gym, General Home Gym, Budget

Valor Fitness

Budget

Best Space-Efficient

Valor Wall Cable Station

A plate-loaded cable column that takes 25 in of wall and very little budget

7.3 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.6/5 · 699 Amazon ratings

Type
Wall-mounted cable tower
Resistance
Plate-loaded, up to 200 lb
Cable ratio
Ratio not published
Footprint
25 × 25 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Takes only about 25 × 25 in of floor
  • Drawback: Single cable column

Best suited to: Small Spaces, Budget, Beginner

Centr

Mid-range

Centr 1

A selectorized trainer with radial arms at a mid-range price

7.3 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.4/5 · 22 Amazon ratings

Type
Functional trainer
Resistance
160 lb stack
Cable ratio
2:1 · up to 80 lb per handle
Footprint
51 × 62 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Weight stack at a mid-range price
  • Drawback: One stack shared by both arms

Best suited to: General Home Gym, Beginner, Small Spaces

Valor Fitness

Mid-range

Best Budget Crossover

Valor BD-61 Crossover

A two-arm plate-loaded crossover with pull-up station for a fraction of a stack machine

7.0 / 10 · LiftEvidence score

4.4/5 · 244 Amazon ratings

Type
Plate-loaded crossover
Resistance
Plate-loaded, up to 200 lb
Cable ratio
Ratio not published
Footprint
56 × 50 in (W × D)
  • Strength: Two independent arms with 17 positions
  • Drawback: Cable ratio not published

Best suited to: Budget, General Home Gym, Beginner

All cable machines compared

The same criteria for every product. A dash means the information was not available from the manufacturer or could not be confirmed. Scores are editorial assessments, not measurements.

All Cable Machines compared
8 productsCheck price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →Check price on Amazon →
Editorial summary (LiftEvidence)
LiftEvidence score8.5 / 108.4 / 108.3 / 107.9 / 107.5 / 107.3 / 107.3 / 107.0 / 10
RecommendationBest OverallBest Compact Functional TrainerBest Value—Best for a Complete Home GymBest Space-Efficient—Best Budget Crossover
Best suited toHypertrophy, Advanced, General Home Gym, Multi UserHypertrophy, Small Spaces, Advanced, General Home GymGeneral Home Gym, Hypertrophy, Multi UserSmall Spaces, General Home Gym, BeginnerComplete Home Gym, General Home Gym, BudgetSmall Spaces, Budget, BeginnerGeneral Home Gym, Beginner, Small SpacesBudget, General Home Gym, Beginner
SmoothnessExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentGoodModerateGoodModerate
Specifications (manufacturer)
TypeFunctional trainerFunctional trainerFunctional trainerFunctional trainerRack with cable crossoverWall-mounted cable towerFunctional trainerPlate-loaded crossover
Resistance2 × 200 lb stacks2 × 170 lb stacks2 × 160 lb stacks2 × 165 lb stacksPlate-loadedPlate-loaded, up to 200 lb160 lb stackPlate-loaded, up to 200 lb
Cable ratio2:1 · up to 100 lb per handle2:1 · up to 85 lb per handle2:1 · up to 80 lb per handle2:1 · up to 82.5 lb per handle2:1Plate-loaded: resistance at the handle is roughly half the plates loaded.Ratio not publishedCable ratio not published by the manufacturer, so handle resistance cannot be stated.2:1 · up to 80 lb per handleRatio from the manufacturer’s product page (each 10 lb plate feels like 5 lb). One stack serves both pulleys.Ratio not publishedCable ratio not published by the manufacturer, so handle resistance cannot be stated.
Independent armsYesYesYesYesYes—NoYes
Pulley positions19 per side32 per side20 per side——16 per side33 per side17 per side
Dimensions83 × 65 × 43.5 in (H × W × D)80.8 × 55.3 × 35.8 in (H × W × D)83 × 62.6 × 42.3 in (H × W × D)82 × 40 × 54 in (H × W × D)82.5 × 55.5 × 68.9 in (H × W × D)80 × 25 × 25 in (H × W × D)81.5 × 51 × 62 in (H × W × D)81 × 56 × 50 in (H × W × D)
MountingFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingWall-mountedFreestandingFreestanding (floor-mount hardware included)
Warranty—Lifetime frame warranty (per Garage Gym Reviews; not stated on the listing)10 years frame, 1 year other parts (manufacturer)Lifetime warranty (per Garage Gym Reviews; terms not stated on the listing)1-year parts coverage (manufacturer listing)———
Price & customer ratings (Amazon)
Price bandHigh-endHigh-endPremiumHigh-endMid-rangeBudgetMid-rangeMid-range
Amazon customer rating4.8/5 (642 ratings)5/5 (10 ratings)4.6/5 (208 ratings)4.6/5 (216 ratings)4.5/5 (207 ratings)4.6/5 (699 ratings)4.4/5 (22 ratings)4.4/5 (244 ratings)
Editorial assessment (LiftEvidence)
Less suitable forSmall rooms or upstairs gyms where an 800 lb freight delivery and a 65 in width are impractical.Anyone who wants the most resistance out of the box, or a wide stance between the uprights.Lifters who need more than 80 lb per handle without buying the stack upgrade.Strong lifters who need more than about 80 lb at each handle.Anyone who mainly wants smooth, quickly adjustable cable training, or who cannot inspect parts carefully on delivery.Two-arm crossovers or quick weight changes; renters who cannot fix into wall studs.Unilateral or partner training that needs two independent stacks, or lifters who need heavy cable loads.Anyone who values smooth, quick weight changes or dislikes long assemblies.
Strengths
  • Up to 100 lb per handle (2 × 200 lb stacks, 2:1)
  • 642 ratings at 4.8 — the strongest review record here
  • Independent arms with 19 positions
  • Multi-grip pull-up station
  • 32 pulley positions
  • Shallowest stack machine here (35.8 in deep)
  • 5 lb add-ons for 2.5 lb steps at the handle
  • Upgradeable to 110 lb per handle
  • Two independent 160 lb stacks, 2:1
  • 10-year frame warranty
  • 20 swivelling positions and chin-up bar
  • Strong owner feedback (4.6, 208 ratings)
  • Only 40 in wide
  • Four accessories included
  • Lifetime warranty (independent review)
  • Strong owner feedback (4.6, 216 ratings)
  • Power rack and cable crossover in one
  • Independent 2:1 pulleys, plate-loaded
  • Large accessory set included
  • Strong value (4.5, 207 ratings)
  • Takes only about 25 × 25 in of floor
  • Very strong review record (4.6, 699 ratings)
  • 16 height positions
  • Lowest price here
  • Weight stack at a mid-range price
  • Radial arms give many angles
  • 2:1 ratio published by the manufacturer
  • Compact low-profile frame
  • Two independent arms with 17 positions
  • Pull-up station and attachments included
  • Takes standard and Olympic plates
  • Low price for a two-arm crossover
Drawbacks
  • Large: 65 in wide and about 83–84 in tall
  • Ships by freight; heavy to move
  • Instructions criticised by owners
  • Low stock at the time of checking
  • 85 lb per handle as standard
  • Narrow usable width between uprights (independent review)
  • Only 10 Amazon ratings
  • Few attachments included
  • 80 lb per handle as standard
  • Few attachments included
  • Instructions criticised
  • 62.6 in wide
  • 82.5 lb per handle maximum
  • 54 in deep — deeper than the Arcadia
  • Pulley position count not published
  • Premium price for the resistance
  • Plate-loaded: slower to change weight
  • 14-gauge steel
  • Bent parts reported by some owners
  • 1-year parts coverage
  • Single cable column
  • Cable ratio not published
  • Plate-loaded: slower changes
  • Must be fixed to wall studs
  • One stack shared by both arms
  • Up to 80 lb at the handle with one arm; split across two when both are used
  • Only 22 Amazon ratings
  • Low Amazon stock when checked
  • Cable ratio not published
  • Pulley smoothness gets mixed reviews
  • Difficult cable routing and poor instructions
  • Plate-loaded: slower changes
Training performance score9.0 / 109.0 / 108.5 / 108.0 / 107.0 / 106.5 / 107.0 / 106.5 / 10
Build quality & durability score9.0 / 108.5 / 108.5 / 108.5 / 106.5 / 107.5 / 107.5 / 107.0 / 10
Versatility score8.5 / 108.5 / 108.0 / 108.0 / 109.0 / 106.5 / 107.5 / 107.5 / 10
Resistance & cable system score9.0 / 108.5 / 108.0 / 107.5 / 107.0 / 106.0 / 106.5 / 106.0 / 10
Value for money score7.5 / 107.5 / 109.0 / 107.0 / 109.0 / 109.0 / 107.5 / 108.5 / 10
Home-gym practicality score7.0 / 108.0 / 107.0 / 108.5 / 107.0 / 109.0 / 108.5 / 107.0 / 10

How we evaluated these cable machines

We shortlisted cable machines available on Amazon.com and compared every finalist on the same criteria: training performance (25%), build quality and durability (20%), versatility (15%), resistance and cable system (15%), value (15%) and home-gym practicality (10%). Scores move in half-point steps, because finer distinctions would be false precision.

Cable ratios and stack weights come from manufacturers; where a ratio is not published, we say so and do not estimate resistance at the handle. Customer themes come from Amazon reviews and are reported as user experience. We have not independently tested these machines.

Read our full methodology.

Frequently asked questions

Are cable machines as effective as free weights for building muscle and strength?

Broadly, yes. A 2023 meta-analysis of studies comparing free-weight and machine training found no difference in muscle growth or strength when compared directly, although strength gains were somewhat specific to the kind of equipment people trained with.

Most lifters benefit from both: free weights for the main lifts, cables for angles and constant tension that free weights cannot provide.

Full references in the buying guide.

What does a 2:1 cable ratio mean?

The handle feels half the weight on the stack, and the cable travels twice as far. A 200 lb stack at 2:1 gives up to 100 lb per handle. It allows longer, smoother movements and smaller effective increments.

Why do small weight increments matter on a cable machine?

Progress depends on adding load gradually. The American College of Sports Medicine suggests increases of roughly 2–10% once you can exceed your target reps. On light isolation exercises, a 10 lb jump on the stack can be far more than that — add-on weights or a 2:1 ratio help.

Full references in the buying guide.

Weight stack or plate-loaded?

Choose a stack if cable work is a big part of your training — changes take seconds. Choose plate-loaded if budget or space is tight and you already own plates.

How much space does a functional trainer need?

Allow the machine’s footprint plus room to stand in front and move your arms out to the sides. Models here range from 40 to 65 in wide, 36 to 69 in deep and up to about 84 in tall.